Posted on

Introduction

Hello Everybody. My name is Slava Basatski. Pretty sure no one cares about what I write here, but I have to write this introductory blog post for a class so here we go.

At this time of this post, I am enrolled in the CTY program of Seneca College in Toronto. At the moment, am split between learning Linux and Networking stuff, both of which are a huge part of the program. I started the program in January 2012 and originally had the plan to complete it with no breaks, but the constant pressure of having to complete some assignment or prepare for a test made me take a break in summer 2013 after all. As of september 2013, I’m back to Seneca taking NDD430, SBR600, and PHP701 and planning to graduate from CNS once I complete these courses *fingers crossed*

SBR600 seems to be an interesting course so far, in which the students will be working on improving the Pidora OS for Raspberry Pi. From what I’ve read, Pidora is good for people who like to tinker and play with their Pi’s or have a certain purpose for it like a server, but not really good for use as an all-around OS. I’m pretty sure this comes from trying to roll out new versions without fixing the old ones, and of course it is due to lack of 3d accelerated graphics on Pidora that it is not the best option for an OS to be used on the Pi for an all around desktop experience.  Hopefully the issue with accessing the 3d graphics chip will soon get resolved so we can have an actual hardware accelerated experience with the Raspberry Pi running Pidora. (Note, according to this article http://www.pcper.com/news/General-Tech/Raspberry-Pi-Replacing-X11-WaylandWeston-Get-GPU-Acceleration , the Raspberry Pi foundation is moving away from using the X driver, and using the Wayland display server instead. This makes me wonder what will be Pidora’s next move; will they keep trying to make things work with X11 or will they adopt the same driver?) I only have to wait and see.

I decided to read what the people in the fedora-devel IRC channel were saying, and this is what I saw:

<halfie> dan408, bochecha_ the upstream guys are super good. they have already fixed the “__MACOSX” problem.
<praveenkumar> jerboaa, I am trying to understand how we can automate koji stuff in a python script, like initiate a build, check the status, after complete get the data ..etc.
<praveenkumar> jerboaa, for that I am going through with koji API stuff.
* tuanta has quit (Read error: Operation timed out)
* tuanta (~tuanta@222.252.85.209) has joined #fedora-devel
<jerboaa> praveenkumar, ok. what MerlinTHP said above. source code for the koji client is best. other than that. there is a builsys list with people on which implemented it. https://admin.fedoraproject.org/mailman/listinfo/buildsys
<praveenkumar> jerboaa, yes I am going through that as MerlinTHP said, will check ML also.
<MerlinTHP> I’m not aware of a real API spec for koji, so your best bet is definately reading the koji cli sources.

Mind you, this is at 4am. All the Microsoft developers are snoring away in their bedrooms at this time, but these guys are working around the clock to improve Linux, so I gotta give the open source community some respect for doing what they do. It also shows how seamless communication can be even if you are across the globe from somebody else, there is always tools for you to communicate and get the job done. I like that.

I hope this class will connect me with the open source people a bit more, and I will be able to contribute to the open source community. I’ve already created accounts on several resources associated with open source; these include the Fedora Wiki, Seneca Wiki, and several related channels on both freenode and mozilla IRC servers. My name there is Slava_ just in case you’re wondering, but best way to reach me is by email at sbasatski@myseneca.ca

Leave a Reply

